Sixty Two

When I am old and weary,  I’ll do  some chants

And put on a pair of bright orange pants

With printed flowers, fruits and plants

And green socks to complete my granny stance.

I will slowly make my way to KMart

With my wheeled walker and a push cart.

I will scold the loud youngs and be a tart

Just because I’m old and weary, it’ll feel right!

When I am grey and grumpy, I’ll always snort

For everyone to give way to  a granny so short

My cane will be my weapon against rowdy cohort

Standing close to my empty carport.

All because I’m grey and grumpy, I’ll be a spoilsport!

I can’t wait to write my age as Sixty Two-

I’ll always be in front of a very long queue

Holding a burger as people watch me chew.

Just because I’m sixty two and not a cuckoo!

There’s so much joy I see in old people’s ways-

Bingo with colorful pens spent on Sundays.

No cash for groceries, just coupons wrapped in lace

As they strut and swag in a very slow turtle pace.

I can’t wait to be old and weary.

I just want to be grey and grumpy.

2015-04-12_13.19.39-1

About RaineFairy

Just another girl who writes crappy doodles and sloppy scribbles.

2 responses to “Sixty Two

  1. To me this is a wonderful modern take on “When I am old I will wear purple…” I like yours better!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yep, I cracked up over that piece. It’s my folks who inspired me to do that. And I told my Daddy (he’s that punky man in pink) that being golden is just divine… they can be grumpy all the time and still be so lovable 😀

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Follow rainefairy on WordPress.com

Join 522 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 8,229 views
