A BATTLE AGAINST THE BULGE

The discussion of food intake amongst my family and friends has become a battle itself. I would always say, “Why diet when are just plenty of goodies to eat?” Nonetheless, the day ends with a big crisis on hand… that I am getting bigger!

I have always fought to be fit, even if my beer intake is twice as much as I would have worked out doing crunches. After giving birth to and breast-feeding my only daughter for 2 years, the bulges started appearing, always unwanted. It takes a special form of discipline to fight these extra fats, specifically the abdominal portion. At first, I dismissed it, with the reason that I just gave birth. What I fool I was to formulate and actually live believing in that fallacy.

Time and again, I would resort to purging and forced vomitting. But the beer intake just has to be put to a minimal consumption. Trapped in a series of questions, I secretly made a comparative study and listed down the goodness and evil doings of what my favorite intakes do for me.

For the purpose of elaboration, I titled each column: FOR THE LOVE OF BEER and FOR THE DISMISSAL OF BEER.

Another comparative study I did were named: CHOCOHOLIC and CHOCOZERO. Chocolates have been a weakness, be it pure chocolate bars or cakes. Anything with pure cocoa is a welcome delight for me.

These comparative studies are now posted on my wall as a reminder of my battle against the bulge. In all fairness, they made me realize how I love myself and want to live longer to spend more time with my teen daughter. And so, I decided to actually eat and drink less of my joys.

It has been more than a year now that I have not taken in soda. Elimination round started with the useless drench in these bottled (and canned) drinks. Coke and Pepsi should actually pay me to drink their products again as I have experienced a lot of changes in my body and behavior.

I sleep earlier now. Emotional outbursts have somehow diminished. And my belly has obviously worn down a bit. Not that I am saying my body has totally leaned out but it has less bulges now. And that’s just for zero soda for a year and 2 months now.

As for the chocolate and cake consumption, I believe my score is a big fat zero! My sugar rush level, as what the new generation pegs, is an Epic Fail.

The alcohol intake is a different tale. I have not taken a bottle (or can) of beer since January of this year. My new darling has kept me company, and his name is Johnny Walker Black. No unwanted calories there. I have yet to see the effects of zero beer zone to this day. No withdrawals.

Now, let me tell you about rice. As a Filipino, various viands are prepared for each meal. Two to three different main dishes are served only to be taken with rice. Can you imagine eating Pro Sinigang without rice? Or a riceless menudo, afritada, daing na bangus? It is like eating egg without salt. But I have learned to take a much smaller serving of rice in every meal. And I say, yes, it helps! The starchy rice is a space expander inside me. All starchy food I have to outgrow and not even look at includes potatoes, french fries, yam and jams.

Pasta, although categorized under starchy, is whole different angle. I love making pasta dishes. And my family and friends all love my pasta yummies. Just like the sugar rush level, elimination, or minimized intake of pasta for this matter, is a sure bet for Epic Fail.

In my list to fight this battle is DAILY CRUNCHES, in bold, all caps fat font. Yes, I do 20 crunches the moment i get up in the morning. And another set of lesser count an hour before hitting the bed.

But wait! There’s more! Whenever I religiously do my crunches, I wear an abdominal binder to help shape me up… or should i say, down?

Now I am down to a hundred and 12 from last December’s 123 lbs. Success, at last! And I sure am maintaining this! Is it the end of my battle with the bulges?

About RaineFairy

Just another girl who writes crappy doodles and sloppy scribbles.

Leave a Reply

Follow rainefairy on WordPress.com

Join 546 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 8,473 views
